There are several different ways to classify crimes. Crimes can be classified by their nature, such as white collar crimes, sex crimes, drugs crimes, domestic violence crimes or driving-related crimes. A different way to distinguish crimes is by their severity, whereby crimes are divided into more-serious and less-serious categories known as felony and misdemeanor crimes. There are also additional classifications within both the more-serious felonies and less-serious misdemeanors.
In Illinois, the most serious classification of misdemeanor is a Class A misdemeanor. Class A misdemeanors can lead to the most severe sentences, followed by Class B misdemeanors and then Class C misdemeanors. Class C misdemeanors face the least severe consequences. More specifically, Illinois law provides that a prison sentence for a Class C misdemeanor cannot exceed 30 days, the probation period cannot exceed 2 years, and a fine cannot exceed $1,500 for each offense or the amount specified in the offense, whichever is greater.
It is important to note that despite being the less-serious classification of crime, misdemeanor convictions, including Class C, will remain on your criminal record unless you are pardoned or get the charge expunged.
Dolci & Weiland lawyers are former prosecutors with 100 years of combined experience trying criminal cases in the DuPage/Chicago area. The criminal defense attorneys at Dolci & Weiland will provide the dedicated and aggressive legal representation that is critical in your defense.
Certain types of criminal offenses tend to be classified as Class C misdemeanors by Illinois courts. Some of the most common examples are listed below.
Assault is defined in 720 ILCS 5/12-1 as a person knowingly engaging in conduct which places another in reasonable apprehension of receiving a battery, without lawful authority.
Illinois law also provides that in addition to any other sentence that may be imposed, a court shall order any person convicted of assault to perform community service for a minimum of 30 hours, and not more than 120 hours.
Firearms; Child Protection
A person will be convicted of a Class C misdemeanor if they store or leave a firearm, within premises under their control, if they know or have reason to believe that a minor under the age of 14 (who does not have a Firearm Owners Identification Card) is likely to gain access to the firearm, without the lawful permission, and that minor causes death or great bodily harm with the firearm.
If convicted of this Class C misdemeanor offense, Illinois law states that they will face a minimum fine of $1000. Should someone convicted of this offense, commit the same crime again, it will be treated as a Class A misdemeanor.
Disorderly conduct encompasses a broad range of offenses. Illinois law outlines different types of disorderly conduct and the different classification of crimes they fall under. A person can be charged with disorderly conduct as a Class C misdemeanor in the situation where they knowingly act in such unreasonable manner as to alarm or disturb another and to provoke a breach of the peace.
If you are arrested for any of the above-mentioned offenses and need legal representation, you can contact us at (630) 261-9098 to speak with a top Illinois defense lawyer and get a free consultation.