Free Consultations | Speak With a Lawyer 24/7 630.261.9098

Registering as a Sex Offender

The Illinois sex offender registry is an online database that displays the information of convicted sex offenders to the public.

The sex offender registration laws in Illinois are complex and undeniably severe. People convicted of sex crimes are expected to live very restrictive lives and follow regulations that dictate where they can live, the people they can be around, and even where they can visit.

To further understand what's at stake if convicted and required to register on this database, the legal team at Dolci & Weiland has provided an extensive guide highlighting the ins and outs of the registry.

Crimes that Require You to Register as a Sex Offender

Illinois sex offender registration laws are intended to protect the people in society, especially minors from sexual predators. Therefore, anyone convicted of a sex offense, or an attempt to commission a sex offense must register as a sex offender. Under the Sex Offender Registration Act (730 ILCS 150), the following crimes will land you a place on the registry:

Contrary to popular belief, a conviction is not the only verdict that can require someone to register as a sex offender in Illinois. Other adjudications requiring registration include being found not guilty of a sex offense by reason of insanity, a juvenile who is convicted of an offense that would require an adult to register as a sex offender, or a person is deemed sexually dangerous or violent by a judge.

Sex Offender Registry Stipulations

As soon as a person is convicted of a sex crime, they must register with the chief of police in the municipality in which they live. They are required to show up in person and provide a large quantity of incredibly personal details. Pieces of information like a current photograph, the offender's name and aliases, their address, the offense committed and sometimes a physical description (height and weight) will be displayed for the masses to see on an online database.

Sex offenders are required to register annually for a duration of 10 years. Additional registry points include when a person is moving residencies, or within 1 year of his or her last registration. The 10-year period commences immediately upon release of incarceration or after a person receives a sentence of probation.

Failure to Register

If you fail to comply with the sex offender registration requirements in Illinois, there are several potential consequences. People who fail to register will face the possible revocation of their parole or conditional release.

Sex offenders face a Class 3 felony if they don't register in a timely manner. This crime is punishable by 2 to 5 years of imprisonment. In addition to a new charge, defendants found guilty of this crime will have their period of placement on the registry extended. Any subsequent incidents of failing to register will be charged as a Class 2 felony, which carries penalties of 3 to 7 years in prison.

Restrictions Placed on Sex Offenders

One of the most damning aspects of being registered as a sex offender are the restrictions placed on a person's life. A person's placement on the registry can affect where they live, where they can visit, who they can affiliate with and even how they navigate social media and the internet. Here's a closer look at the restrictions sex offenders experience in their daily lives.

Sex offenders can't be near public parks. The point of the Illinois sex offender registry is to keep predators away from places where they would have access to children. Since children often occupy public parks, offenders are prohibited from visiting or living near a public park or any building on the premises of a public park. A public park is defined as any park, forest conservation area, or forest preserve under the jurisdiction of the state or any unit of local government.

Sex offenders can't be near schools. Obviously, sex offenders are forbidden from being present on any school property or building. According to state law, an offender can't be within 500 feet of school property without permission from the school board or a superintendent, unless they are the parent of a child at that school, and the parent is present on school grounds for at least one of the following three reasons:

  1.  The parent is attending a conference to discuss significant issues concerning topics like retention and promotion
  2. The parent is attending a conference with personnel to discuss the progress of his or her child socially or academically
  3. The parent is attending a review conference where placement decisions are being made regarding special education services

Sex offenders will experience severe limitations on social media. Illinois law bans sex offenders from using social networking sites while they are on parole, probation or under mandatory supervised release.

There are no current restrictions on a sex offender's freedom to live with a child. But if this is happening, it must be reported to local law enforcement within three days of moving into a new residency in which children younger than 18 abide who are not the offender's child.

Have You Been Charged With a Sex Crime in Illinois? Contact Dolci & Weiland Today

The stakes are high for people arrested and charged with sex crimes in Illinois. If you are in this predicament, it's absolutely critical you secure the representation of a criminal defense attorney immediately. It is not wise to represent yourself in any case, let alone in a case like this one with so much to lose. You won't have to with the legal team at Dolci & Weiland by your side.

Overall,  it is best to obtain an attorney upon immediate notice of your charges. To speak with a member of our team, fill out an online case evaluation form or give us a ring at the office closest to you today. The number for our downtown Chicago location is 312-238-9007, for our DuPage office, call 630-261-9098.