Free Consultations | Speak With a Lawyer 24/7 630.261.9098

Illinois Criminal Law: Class 4 Felony

Criminal offenses in the United States are divided into two different categories: felonies and misdemeanors. Felonies include the most serious crimes and carry the most severe sentences, while misdemeanors cover less serious offenses and carry less severe sentences.

Within the category of felonies, offenses are further divided into 5 different classes in Illinois, ranging from the most serious Class X felonies to the least serious Class 4 felonies. Even though a Class 4 felony has lower penalties than other felony charges, it can still result in prison time, fines, and other penalties.

Under Illinois law, a prison sentence for a Class 4 felony conviction must fall within 1 to 3 years. Class 4 felony convictions can also include fines of up to $25,000.

All convictions in Illinois, whether felony or misdemeanor, will remain on your criminal record unless you are pardoned or get the charge expunged.

The DuPage/Chicago Criminal Lawyers at Dolci & Weiland provide dedicated, aggressive legal representation. Dolci & Weiland lawyers are former prosecutors, and their combined experience of over 50 years trying criminal cases is critical in preparing your defense.

Certain types of criminal offenses tend to be classified as Class 4 felonies by Illinois courts. Some of the most common examples are outlined below.

Drug Crimes

Several drug crimes can be considered Class 4 felonies in Illinois. This includes:

Obstructing Justice

A person obstructs justice when, with intent to prevent the apprehension or obstruct the prosecution or defense of any person, he or she knowingly commits any of the following acts:

  • Destroys, alters, conceals or disguises physical evidence, plants false evidence, furnishes false information; or
  • Induces a witness having knowledge material to the case to leave the State or conceal themselves; or
  • Possessing knowledge material to the case themselves, leaves the State or conceals themselves; or
  • If a parent, legal guardian, or caretaker of a child under 13 years of age reports materially false information to a law enforcement agency, medical examiner, coroner, State's Attorney, or other governmental agency during an investigation of the disappearance or death of a child.

Criminal Sexual Abuse

A person commits criminal sexual abuse when they commit an act of sexual conduct by the use of force or threat of force, or commit an act of sexual conduct while knowing that the victim is unable to understand the nature of the act, or is unable to give knowing consent. Criminal sexual abuse is a probationable offense.

If you are arrested for any of the above-mentioned offenses and need legal representation, you can contact Dolci & Weiland for a free consultation. Call (630) 261-9098 to speak with a top Illinois defense lawyer today.