Driving under the influence is already a costly charge which can carry stiff penalties in the state of Illinois. When this charge is coupled with an aggravating circumstance such as driving while uninsured, the punishment that a person can face upon conviction can be extremely severe. If you're an Illinois resident who is facing such a charge, the team of DUI defense attorneys at Dolci & Weiland can help.
An Overview of DUI in Illinois
Driving under the influence is prohibited in Illinois by 625 ILCS 5/11-501, which states that a person shall not drive or be in actual physical control of any vehicle in the state while:
- the alcohol concentration in the person's blood, other bodily substance, or breath is 0.08 or more;
- under the influence of alcohol;
- under the influence of any intoxicating compound; or
- under the influence of any other drug or combination of drugs to a degree that renders the person incapable of safely driving.
The statute goes on to define a number of aggravating factors which can enhance the punishment a person faces if convicted of DUI, including that ". . . the person committed the violation while he or she knew or should have known that the vehicle that he or she was driving was not covered by a liability insurance policy . . . ."
Penalties of Driving Under the Influence While Uninsured in Illinois
If you are charged with DUI and are uninsured at the time of your arrest, the penalties that you can face upon conviction can be enhanced. Driving under the influence while uninsured considered aggravated DUI, and is a Class 4 felony charge that carries the following possible penalties:
- Impoundment of your vehicle at the time of your arrest;
- Imprisonment from 1 to three years; and
- A fine of up to $25,000;
- A revocation of the person's driving privileges.
Under certain circumstances, a person charged with an aggravated DUI offense can be sentenced to a term of probation or term of conditional discharge in lieu of serving time in prison. This does not mean that the person gets off scot-free, however; any person who is sentenced to probation or conditional discharge must either serve a minimum sentence of 10 days in jail or be complete 480 hours of community service.
Charged with DUI While Uninsured in Illinois? We're Here to Help
If you've been charged with driving under the influence while operating a vehicle that was uninsured in the state of Illinois, it's important to seek the help of a seasoned criminal defense attorney to help defend against your case. Aggravated DUI convictions are costly in more ways than one--these charges can cost you your ability to drive as well as your freedom.
Don't delay any longer in getting the legal assistance you need to defend against your charge--to speak with a member of the Dolci & Weiland legal team, fill out an online contact form or call the office nearest to you today--for our DuPage office, call (630) 261-9098, or for our downtown Chicago location, contact (312) 238-9007 today.