While driving under the influence is a serious charge in and of itself, a person who has been arrested for DUI faces even more severe penalties if the individual did not possess a valid driver's license at the time of the arrest. Defending against a charge of driving under the influence with a revoked or suspended license should only be handled by an experienced attorney who knows the ins and outs of defending against DUI charges.
If you have been charged with driving under the influence without a valid license in the state of Illinois, Dolci & Weiland's team of DUI defense attorneys are dedicated to providing the representation you need to fully defend against your charge and obtain the best possible outcome.
Penalties for Driving Under the Influence Without a License in Illinois
If you have been caught driving under the influence while driving on a suspended or revoked license, your penalties can be severely enhanced. The punishment that you can face for such a charge is largely dependent upon how many times, if any, you have been convicted of DUI without a valid license in the past.
The first conviction of driving under the influence without a valid license is a Class A misdemeanor charge, and carries with it the following penalties:
- Mandatory imprisonment for up to ten days or 30 days of community service;
- A fine of up to $2,500.00;
- Suspension of your driver's license for double the original suspension period, or an additional revocation of one year; and
- Potential seizure or forfeiture of your vehicle.
The penalties for subsequent convictions of driving under the influence without a valid license are even more severe--a second or subsequent conviction of such a crime is a felony. In addition to a felony on his or her record, a person convicted of driving under the influence with a suspended or revoked driver's license can face the following punishment:
- a minimum of 30 days in jail or 300 hours of community service;
- A suspension of the person's driving privileges for double the original suspension period, or revocation for an additional year.
Penalties for subsequent charges may be further enhanced if the original reason for the revocation of the person's license was one of the following:
- Reckless homicide;
- Driving under the influence
- Refusing a chemical test after a DUI; or
- Leaving the scene of an accident involving bodily injury or death.
Charged with DUI Without a License in Illinois? We Can Help
If you have been charged with driving under the influence in Illinois and did not possess a valid driver's license at the time of your arrest, the time to contact a criminal defense attorney to assist in your case is now. The lack of a license adds another hurdle to defending against your charge, and you should never try to tackle your case alone.
Don't wait until it is too late to retain a qualified attorney to help defend against your charge--to speak with a member of our legal team today, fill out an online case evaluation form or contact the Dolci & Weiland office nearest to you today--for our DuPage office, contact (630) 261-9098, or for our downtown Chicago location, call (312) 238-9007.