A DUI charge in DuPage County, Illinois, is not something to take lightly. Without prompt action, you could lose your driver's license and have a criminal charge permanently on your record. A conviction can affect your employment and your opportunity to pursue higher education. This is a serious charge that you should not try to fight on your own.
The best decision you can make is to reach out to an experienced DuPage County DUI attorney. A seasoned criminal defense attorney from Dolci & Weiland will craft the strongest defense for you while protecting your best interests.
DuPage County Police Stations
After you are arrested for DUI in DuPage County, in most cases, law enforcement will transport you to a police station for breath testing. The location that law enforcement transports you to depends on where you are arrested and the law enforcement agency involved.
Police stations in DuPage County include:
Illinois State Police
2700 Ogden Avenue
Downers Grove, IL 60515
DuPage County Sheriff's Office
501 N County Farm Road
Wheaton, IL 60187
Wheaton Police Department
900 W Liberty Drive
Wheaton, IL 60187
Hanover Park Police Department
2011 W Lake Street
Hanover Park, IL 60133
Lombard Police Department
235 E Wilson Avenue
Lombard, IL 60148
Clarendon Hills Police Department
448 Park Ave #1
Clarendon Hills, IL 60514
Village of Westmont Police Department
500 N Cass Avenue
Westmont, IL 60559
Glen Ellyn Police Department
65 S Park Boulevard
Glen Ellyn, IL 60137
DuPage County Courthouse
DUI cases are prosecuted in the DuPage County Courthouse. It is located at:
421 N. County Farm Road
Wheaton, IL 60187
Your hearings will be on the fourth floor in Rooms 4002, 4015, or 4017.
In your DUI case, the arresting law enforcement agency sets your arraignment date. This must occur no less than 26 days or no more than 42 days after your arrest. The date selected will be based on the arresting officer's regular traffic court dates; the arresting officer's vacation schedule; the arresting officer's training schedule; and court holidays. The arresting officer must appear at your arraignment or the Court may dismiss the charges against you.
If you were charged with other crimes resulting from the same incident as your DUI, your cases will all be tried at the same time in the same court division. Your cases will be heard in the court that would be assigned to your most serious offense.
Your DUI case will be randomly assigned a judge, and the same judge will preside over all your hearings from arraignment to trial.
You have the right to a speedy trial in your DUI case. Your attorney will draft a demand for a speedy trial, and you will sign it. This is served on the State's Attorney and a copy is sent to the Clerk of Court.
You may not leave the state while your DUI is pending unless your attorney files a Motion with the Court to amend the conditions of your bond.
Between the arraignment and the trial, your attorney and the prosecutor may file several Motions with the Court, asking the Court to grant specific relief in your case. Unless the matter is an emergency, the Court will schedule a date for a hearing on the Motion.
In limited circumstances, the Court will allow you to appear by a two-way audio/video communication system. This can only occur if you are incarcerated and the Director of Corrections or Sheriff has certified that a secure line exists for you and your attorney to communicate with the Court. The hearing must be for one of the following purposes:
- Your initial hearing at which your bail is set
- Waiver of a preliminary hearing
- Your arraignment when you intend to enter a plea of not guilty
- Presentation of a jury waiver
- Any status hearing
If you do not meet these criteria, the Court expects you to attend all of your hearings in person. This is to protect your constitutional rights and gives you the opportunity to participate in witness confrontation, the presentation of your defense, and impaneling the jury.
On the day of your trial, your attorney will check in with the Clerk of Court, and cases will be called in the order in which the attorneys checked in with the Clerk. Your attorney must check in before court begins for the day and must remain in the courtroom until your case is called.
Your on-time attendance at your trial is of utmost importance, especially if witnesses are testifying. On the day of your trial, if the judge calls your case and you are not present, the judge may dismiss the witnesses. If you arrive after the witnesses are dismissed, your trial will be continued to another date. If the judge determines that your tardiness was "contumacious or designed to frustrate the legitimate ends of justice," you could face sanctions, including revocation of your bond and remaining in custody until your next trial date.
Have You Been Charged With a DUI in DuPage County? Contact an Attorney at Dolci & Weiland Today
A DuPage County DUI charge can damage your livelihood and your future if you are convicted. The loss of your driver's license will severely impact your job, your education, and your quality of life.
You need an experienced criminal defense attorney who will use the law to your advantage to craft a strategic defense to show the judge or jury that you are not guilty "beyond a reasonable doubt" and fight to have charges against you dismissed. An attorney from Dolci & Weiland will defend your future with excellent legal representation.
To speak with a member of our legal team, fill out our online case evaluation form or call the DuPage office at (630) 261-9098.