A conviction for most sex crimes in Illinois requires you to register as a sex offender on the Illinois Sex Offender Registry. If you're reading this page, you most likely already know the devastating effects registering as a sex offender has on your life, however, the implications of failing to register as a sex offender are much worse.
Which Crimes Require you to Register as a Sex Offender?
As stated by 730 ILCS 150/2 (B), those convicted of a “sex offense” in Illinois are defined as sex offenders and are required by law to register in Illinois as a sex offender. The length of time sex offenders are required to register varies based on the type of conviction.
How Long do Sex Offenders in Illinois have to Register as a Sex Offender?
Sexual Predators – In Illinois, those convicted of crimes such as Possession of Child Pornography, Criminal Sexual Abuse or Sexual Assault (with or w/out aggravating circumstances) are labeled as “sexual predators” and are required to register on the Illinois Sex Offender Registry for the rest of their life.
Sexual Offenders – Sexual offenders are people who are convicted of sex crimes that aren't categorized as “predatory” by Illinois Statute. These individuals are required to register as a sex offender for 10 years.
How Often do Sex Offenders have to Register in Illinois
Anyone required to register as a sex offender in Illinois must register at their local police department within 3 days of being sentenced by the court. Additionally, sex offenders must renew their registration annually.
If a sex offender is going to leave their residence for a period of 3 days or longer, they must register at the local police department of the place they will be staying. If the sex offender is going to be leaving the state of Illinois, they must learn and follow the registration requirements of the state in which they will be staying.
What Happens if you Fail to Register as a Sex Offender in Illinois?
In Illinois, when a person in ordered by the court to register as a sex offender and fails to do so, they can be charged with a Class 3 Felony (punishable by 2-5 years in the Illinois Department of Corrections) for a first time offense. If a person is charged with failing to register for a second or subsequent time, it can be charged as a Class 2 Felony (punishable by 3-7 years in the Illinois Department of Corrections).
Contact Dolci & Weiland Chicago/DuPage Failure to Register Lawyers Today
If you are facing criminal charges relating to failing to register as a sex offender in Illinois, DO NOT wait to contact a lawyer. As former sex crimes prosecutors and established criminal defense attorneys, our sex crimes defense lawyers know the ins-and-outs of Illinois law relating to failure to register as a sex offender. We can help you.